Beginner - database

Good day.
I am a complete beginner in this community.
Can you advise me?
I would like to create an information retrieval application.
Is there a way to store that information in a database?
The sentence line consists of five columns.
An example would help me a lot as a beginner.
Thanks.
Ondrej

Hello Ondrej, welcome to the community!

To learn how data works in Composer, I suggest you check out some of our tutorials:

Quick Onboarding Videos: Data resources and REST
Core Lessons: Data & Integrations

Hope these help! :slight_smile:

Hello Mari! Thank you for email. Forgive my English … I am 66 years old and as a programmer I used MAT4, COBOL, CLIPPER, PASCAL, VISUAL BASIC and VISUAL FOXpro … I only speak technical expressions from English. Now on my old knees I want to learn how to create a simple mobile app … As a database for my mini project, I rather considered a local database, e.g. SQlite, which would be in the application’s assets, so that the user of the app does not have to connect to the Internet. Can AppGyver work with any local database? Thanks for the reply. Ondrej

po 25. 1. 2021 o 17:20 Mari Hirvi via AppGyver <appgyver2@discoursemail.com> napĂ­sal(a):

Hi, yes that’s possible! You could use either an app variable or a client-side storage resource for that. Does the user need to be able to make changes to the data or is it enough if it gets initialized when the app opens?

Good day! On the client side, there should be a database with about 200 rows of 5 columns. The client does not make changes, it should only be able to search for rows in the db and display columns. Ondrej

ut 26. 1. 2021 o 13:02 Mari Hirvi via AppGyver <appgyver2@discoursemail.com> napĂ­sal(a):

Hi Ondrej, in this case the simplest way to do this is a “list of objects” type app variable with 5 properties:

You’ll be able to set the initial values of the app variable in the right column, this will be done every time the app starts up: