Bravo, thank you, and a Map question

First off - Bravo on an amazing job with Appgyver! I’m very impressed. Thanks for all the hard work you’ve put into it. I’m excited to continue to learn and create with it.
I’ve watched all the tutorials and made several test/prototype projects. Your in-app learning system definitely helps. I am still a noob though, so perhaps my questions is a little basic:
-I’m experimenting with the embedded map view example. I works great with the initial values in the page variable mapMarkers including for manually creating additional markers (via the properties in the Page Variable settings). But what I would like to do is bring in a Data Variable collection of records and create a new marker for every record containing longitude and latitude fields. What would be the best way to approach that?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

1 Like

The map view will render whatever is set to the Markers property, as long as they are in the correct format.

So, if you have a set of records in your backend that are loaded into the data.myCollection data variable, let’s say with the schema that you have lat and lon and labelText fields.

You can then use the MAP formula function to then transform the data into the correct format, e.g.

MAP(data.myCollection, {latitude: item.lat, longitude: item.lon, iconName: "heart", label: item.labelText})

The {key: value} syntax allows you to construct an object within a formula, and in the context of the MAP function specifically, item contains the current object under iteration.

Hope that makes sense!

OK, great. That’s very cool. I’ll see what I can do. Thank you!

Hi Harri and Dennis,

I spent ~12 hours on this and I cannot get this to work. The map renders static coordinates ok but, I cannot get the map to render dynamic data. I have tested with numerous combinations of page and data variables, and syntax.