Datetime vs date only

As you might guess, I am new to Appgyver. (By the way, so far I like it alot!)

I have a firebase collection with a date configured as a “timestamp”. I display the data in a “basic list” component. It shows the date and time. I am not interested in the time. I don’t want that to be displayed (it is meaningless in my app). How do I get the basic list to display just the date?

FYI, at first I configured the date field in firebase as a string. Therefore, my data variable date field in Appgyver was also configured as a string. But when I tried to bind my date data variable to the date picker component, I was met with the dreaded “incompatible” notice - something about an inability to convert a date-time object to a string. I tried creating a function to do that conversion, “STRING(data.myData.date)” but Appgyver rejected that as well. I also tried the SPLIT() function, but that did not work either (I’m not entirely sure why Appgyver rejected that).

So, I reconfigured the date field of my data variable to a date type (not a date-time type) but that has not solved the problem. My basic list is displaying date-time, not just date.

(I am trying to do what appears to be somewhat difficult in Appgyver, namely, display existing data (in the date picker) but also permit it to be changed. I’ve previously struggled with an input field both showing existing data and allowing a change to that data - and had only moderate success. I’ve seen other people on the forums struggling with that as well. I assume I’ll figure it out as I become more familiar with Appgyver.

At any rate, any assistance in solving my date-time issue will be appreciated.

I guess Your solution should be the

FORMAT_DATETIME_LOCAL(data.yourDate, "YYYY-MM-DD")

This would only show the described format. Use these placeholders to arrange as you please:

YYYY - full year
YY - last two digits of the year
MM - number of the month
MMM - short of the month e.g. Jun