Expiring Token with API call

Hello all, I am new to AppGyver and also not a seasoned (code) developer. I am trying to connect to a database API that has an expiring token using the POST call. I am having trouble on two fronts. 1. Retrieving the token and storing it somewhere temporarily (since it will need to be updated).

I do get the POST call response but assigning the value to a data variable is problematic often showing as “incompatible” or “unknown format” - unable to parse the returned response to a variable.

My next issue would be using that token for subsequent API calls and managing the expiration of the token. Worse case is I request a new token with each api request but that will mean two calls each time.

Any help would be appreciated.

What I do is:
I have an API resource called ‘Auth_token’. This does a GET to retrieve the token and the expiration.
After “page mounted” and “hide spinner” in logic, I made a “get record” with data resource ‘Auth_token’. After “get record”, I made a “set app variable” with the app variable ‘Token’, this “set app variable”, gets the token out of “get record” and puts it in the app variable called ‘Token’.
After the app variable ‘Token’ is set, you can use this app variable in the authorization of the data resources you need this token for.
If you need further explanation and/or screenshots, give me a holler. :grinning:

Thanks very much for your response. So the API token access, in my case, requires me to use a POST request. Not sure how this changes things. BTW, suddenly my POST request stopped working with the API sending back : Error: JSON error response from server: {“messages”:[{“message”:“Unknown parameter(s): id”,“code”:“960”}],“response”:{}}.status: 400

I only have an Authorization and Content-Type header.

The headers passed are exactly what they were before and the same headers work without issue in Postman. Any thoughts on why this is happening?

Thanks again!