Format a displayed date field

I am able to display my event start date for my card style list of events.

I want to format it to show:
Mon Mar
2nd

I have two fields in place for the rows of info I want. I just don’t know how to format them. Currently they both show the format as 2020-02-12.

In the Formula Editor i have:
current.fields[“Event Start Date”]

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

You can use the FORMAT_DATETIME_LOCAL formula function for this!

1 Like

Thank you for the response. I’m still not quite sure what to do.

In other apps I have used (Mmm Ddd) for the formatting details. But I don’t know where to put it. (I am a designer, not developer.) I’m new to formulas. I have watched the 5 formula videos in the onboarding. Still getting used to structure.

Current my formula is:
current.fields[“Event Start Date”]

FORMAT_DATETIME_LOCAL(NOW(), “ddd MMM”)

Instead of NOW() you can add your date field.

1 Like

I updated my formula to:
current.fields["Event Start Date"FORMAT_DATETIME_LOCAL(NOW(), “ddd MMM”)]

I get an error. And I am not using the current time. I am pulling the data from a date field. I don’t understand the structure of formulas yet.

I’m not an expert but it should be like this:
FORMAT_DATETIME_LOCAL(current.event_start_date, “ddd MMM”)

1 Like

Definitely closer.

Mr. Harri_Sarsa, there are two value types of the properties could be considered as Date, however, the date format is not working with them because they are getting formatted as strings. So, how to solve Carri_Craver’s issue?

I recreated what you are attempting and saw the same error for the formula but saved it and tried it and it showed the formatted date result. I did it the way you have it and it worked. I also used DATETIME function to convert the Event Start Date and it worked.

Both attempts still showed some formula errors but I ignored them, saved the formula and gave it a try in the mobile app and it worked :slight_smile:

1 Like