How to add a numeric value to an existing number

Hello All,
I am looking for some advice on how to add a number to another existing number.
Some back ground, this is my first ever app and I am no coder, I have some issues to understand the logic

My app tracks my gym workout, the idea is that I have an exercise, for which I plan to do x number of reps with x amount of weight. the exercise will have an image (a thump up) that when pressed will add 0.5 to the existing number for next time I do that exercise.

From the image below you can see I start the exercise with 2kg and the plan is that if I press the thump up the 2 will become 2.5 for the next time.

beside not having idea how to do this, my first issue is that when I view the app on my phone the 2 shows as a zero.

Please consider my total inexperience if you provide some guidance.

Much appreciated
Nic

Store the mass as a page variable (or app variable), with 2 as the initial value. Lets say you call this “Mass_Variable”. In the button logic when tapped, use “set page variable” and select “Mass_Variable” For the assigned value, use the add function, set “Mass_Variable” as the first value and 0.5 as the second. You can display the value to the user using a text box, and having “Mass_variable” as the value and + “kg” for the unit.

I tested it, works well, very simple

Thank You very much for the instructions, I have to say I am proud that I was actually able to follow them. You were very clear,

I do however have a question, what you did works but how do I prevent it from resetting to the original value every time I close the app?

I understand, you mean you want to save the data (for each user). To do that, you’ll have two main options: