How to add icon in the input field

Hi I am a complete newbie to AppGyver (and also a newbie to coding). I am building an app interface which needs an icon in the input field (email address field - the icon is a small mail along with the placeholder).

How do I add icons inside the input field as placeholder? Please help.

Many thanks in advance.

Welcome to AppGyver, Rahul!

I don’t believe that ability is natively supported, but perhaps @Harri_Sarsa, @Mevi, or @Tomi_Laakso could kindly comment on that. It’s an interesting concept.

I’m assuming you mean a literal icon placeholder similar to a text placeholder which disappears as soon as the person starts typing. You could try and nest your input inside a container, and then nest your icon component of choice also inside that container with the icon’s position set to Absolute. You could then position the icon near the approximate location of where the first character would be typed (be sure to set your icon’s Z-index higher than the input if it appears behind it when set to Absolute).

A quick one-way street approach is to get the “Hide Component” function from the Flow Function Market and attach it to the “Component onChange” function in the logic editor for your input. Set the component to be hidden to the name of your icon. I’ve just tested this myself and it does, indeed, work in hiding my icon as soon as I type, similar to a placeholder.

I say this is a one-way street approach because it’s only triggered once to hide the icon when the first first character is entered into the input. Being here for only about two months myself, I’m not quite experienced enough with formulas to make a dynamic approach which could hide the icon when a character is typed and show it if all characters are deleted from the input like with native text placeholders.