How to handle push notifications for app in foreground?(Firebase)

From what I have read, in firebase, when a push notification is sent and the user has the app open (in foreground) the “data” portion of the push notification is send to/ handled by the client app. (app made using AppGyver) Is there a way we can use this data or is that not possible with AppGyver?

Hi @Donnico_Miller

I’m new in the AppGyver world but I’m trying to master the Firebase inside the AppGyver.

I didn’t play with push notification yet, but on the “logic for GLOBAL CANVAS”, you have a set of event types that you can select. There is one called ‘Notification Received’ and I would try this one.

Please, if you figure out how to handle push notification with the app in foreground put all the detail in this thread :slight_smile:

Thank you, I will check it out

When I try this it gives out an empty value “{ }” for the receive event, and for the event.value it gives me “undefined”

I have decided to exclude this in my app for now, but will go back to it in the near future

If your push notification is an object from firebase database, which is what I do, all you have to do is use in notification received event and make a container visible containing the latest object in firebase which triggers the notification. I have done it and it works well in global canvas.

I don’t completely understand, may you send a screenshot please

Yeah I will when I get home. I’m on my cell right now. Until then, what is the notification being sent for?

The notification is to alert users for deadlines of the things they posted on the app. I have the notifications working already (with firebase too)