Launching App-Keystore?

I’m new to launching apps and have no clue what I’m doing. I’ve read the section on Android Keystore in the documentations section and I do not understand what it is saying. I have no coding knowledge, if that makes a difference. I have a Google Developer account from a previous attempt at launching an app through a different builder program.

Download java. Then go to your java install folder, and bin. Inside bin, you will see an app called keytool. You can run it on the command line to create a keystore for your app - that will be a file you will store locally on your computer, and you will use a password and some other info about your app to make that file using the keytool utility. Then you have to upload that file to AppGyver so that that keystore file gets associated with your app.

2 Likes

in command line you have to write sth., but what do we have to write there that it is a full functional keystore file?

I’ve got Java, opened the bin, and found the keytool app, but when I go to click on it, it brings up the command line window for a split second but it disappears.

That’s correct. I will describe how to use the command line below. But there’s another way I found just now: https://headjack.io/tutorial/create-android-keystore-file/ which does not require using the command line. Instead, you can use an open source keystore management system. That method also requires you to download Java, which you have already done. That technique does exactly what you will do below, but in a GUI instead of on the command line. You might prefer using that technique.

If you prefer using the command line, here’s how:

Run cmd as an adminstrator:

Then navigate to your bin folder using the CD command: cd program files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_121\bin

Now you can type the keytool command/instructions provided by AppGyver by typing the following in the command line (you can copy-paste from below and change the my-app-name bit)