Newbie: Best way for non-developer hobbyist to store data

Background Info
I’m a hobbyist and a retired developer with an ancient background in programming. I have a pet project (pretty much for my own use) that I’ve been trying to work on for many years but never had the time to progress with it. As a result, my data has stayed in a Google spreadsheet with Google Scripts automating a couple of functions and the rest still being manual. I’ve recently picked it up again and would LOVE to see if Composer Pro would allow me to finally complete it.

I’ve got less than a thousand records in my main table and several small lookup tables (most are under 20 records). Since it’s for my own use, my budget is almost nil. I need it to work on Windows 10 (or web) plus on my Android phone.

Question 1
My main question is about where to most easily store my data so that I can use it within an Appgyver Composer Pro application. The database could either be SQLite or a no-SQL database or spreadsheet-based. I’ve never used a Rest API so I don’t know anything about that, but I could learn.

Question 2
My second question is whether there is anything prewritten that would allow my data to have a column with Markdown in it that would be formatted when displayed. I not, I’d try to develop it on my own and publish it for your community’s use.

Thanks … Jeff

REST APIs are the way to integrate to a backend at the moment, so there’s some learning to be done, but it’s not a very difficult concept. In essence REST just means an endpoint that returns/accepts (typicallly) JSON-format data, and a specific structure to how the different routes and HTTP verbs (i.e. GET/POST/PUT etc) map to actions.

As such, the best backend for your app is really a balance between price/features/ease-of-use etc. We do hear the call for an “official recommendation”, and the plan is to make a few end-to-end examples/tutorials available.