Project connected to Firebase, and data doesn't show

I used this video to help configure my Firebase account and database, and build a simple “hello world” AppGyver Android app. It doesn’t give errors on the connection, but no data shows up in the preview, even though I’ve entered two records.

I have done all the step for two different projects, just to make sure I didn’t skip a step, and the second one I only did the steps in the video.

I am using the previewer on my Android device and the previewer for Windows. Neither one shows the data.

I have not even added authentication to the App yet.

My rules:
allow read: if
request.time < timestamp.date(2022, 1, 27);

The app is certainly hitting the database according to this graphic

I even added a few events to the page load to try to force read the table. No change in the previewer…

At any rate, I’m new to this, and if I cannot get past this simple first step…

Hi, do you have a data variable associated with the collection you’re trying to fetch to display the data?

If you open web preview with Chrome dev tools open (right-click + Inspect → Network) do you see that the “Get collection” request goes through successfully or are there any errors?

You can also see the results of the Get collection flow by for example adding an Alert to both output ports of the flow (1st is success and 2nd is error), and binding the alert content to the output of Get collection.

1 Like

Yes, thank you for responding. I have a data variable, but when it didn’t produce what the video produces, and I saw my data set on the Firebase site getting hits, I gave up after 8 hours of trying different things.

Per your suggestion, I have added alerts. I get the alert “Data Found!” from this…

And after adding the alerts, the data shows in the previewer. So what’s changed by adding the alerts!?

Hi, that’s very odd, nothing should change. Could be some temporary flake in the preview app – does it still work if you remove the alert?