Server-side (Cloud Firestore) query returning 20 of 20000 documents

Hi I am struggling - I am an automotive manufacturing engineer, not a REST developer.

I need to build a containment process that scans an end-item number and then presents a list of all the component parts. The app would scan the barcode of each component part and confirm it is correct. The returned documents for each component part would include multiple fields (part number, description, model).

My collection is in Cloud Firestore now (rules are open for the next 15 days):
https://firestore.googleapis.com/v1/projects/paccar-build-verification/databases/(default)/documents/PACCAR Filtered BOM
I tried to follow:
Google Firestore REST API integration - AppGyver
but I am getting lost.

If the server-side query can be executed in AppGyver then I will not change the schema of my database, but if that’s like fitting a round peg into a square hole then maybe I can change my db schema to allow using a get call (each end-item part number would be unique in the db) to search for only one field, returning an object/document of component parts).

Any comments would be appreciated.

Hi, I am not sure what exactly the core of your question is.

Just two thougts that I like to share with you:

• you can increase the number of returned documents by adaption the ‘pagination’. The default for firestore is 20 documents and you can increase that number like this:

• I would not recomend to download the 20.000 documents each time the app is used. Instead the barcode should give the ID for the particular document, that relates to the automotive part and download only that single document.