Total newbie questions

I just started with Appgyver, and I’m trying to follow the tutorials.
In the data section - “listing data” - if I follow the instructions step by step - and I create a list, whenever I enter another entry - the list doesn’t auto update like it does in the video. (I did try to set the “refresh data” to true, and the refresh rate to 5000, although it is not in the tutorial, and still).

Also - the “updating records” tutorial – even though I did everything step-by-step – it didn’t pass me. :frowning:

last thing (for now) and I don’t quite know how to phrase the question – I want a user to enter an input, and to check that input with the existing db to see there’s no identical record. I tried finding a suitable formula like “is_in_array”, but didn’t manage.

thank you!

please share some images to get a better understanding of the problem, also what are you using as a backend?

As for the the last question its possible, but you need to make everything else work first.

Thank you for replying.
I am just copying the tutorial videos you get in the main editor (under “data”, videos 2 and 4).
I am not using anything external as my backend. The data source is a local one.

thank you.

Well, I started another project, done exactly the same steps, and now it works :frowning:

Anyhow – how do I check for duplicates in a table?
I have a local database called “ingredients” that has an ID and Name.
I have a data variable called “newIngredient”

I have an input field that has its value pointing to newIngredient
and a submit button that creates new record.

I want to verify that the new input doesn’t already exist in the list.

Can someone please help?
many thanks.

you could try using an if with the function IS_IN_ARRAY_BY_KEY or IS_IN_ARRAY
depending on how the data is structured

Thank you for replying.

if I understand what you’re saying, my data is structured thus:

I have a local database called “ingredients” that has an ID and Name.