Trouble getting my Post Request API response to a data variable

Total noob here - my apologies for any redundancy or general ignorance.

I’m pulling data from an API that requires the request to be a post. The test returns the exact data that I want and the schema from response also works perfectly.

The issue I’m having is when I’m trying to set the data variable. Here are my steps:

1. Variables > Data Variables > Add Data Variable > (Select my data source)
  2. I set Data Variable Type to Single Data Record
  3. In the logic flow I delete the Get Record and the Delay and add a Create Record
  4. Set Data Variable > Data (Binding) > Output Value Of Another Node > (Select logic node) Create Record > (Select node output) Response

This is where I get confused - Under response, there are three items:

1. The list that I’m looking for (list of objects with 44 properties)
  2. Status Code
  3. Status Message

All of the three are marked incompatible.

It does seem to allow me to select the Response, so I save and move on, but when I try to use the variable on the page, my only option says ‘id’ and it returns nothing.

I must be missing something obvious. Can anyone tell me where I got turned around? Many thanks for your help!!!

Hey,

If you are looking for a list, you should be using a Collection of data records (a list of objects) type variable instead of a Single data record (an object). Also, make sure to define the schema of the objects in the Data resource configurator → The resource you are using → Get collection → Schema, so that your data variable gets the correct properties.

1 Like

Hi Cecilia,

Thanks for responding!

That seemed to make more sense to me as well.

However, this particular API is requiring I use a POST to get the data. That does work when testing - I run the post query with the right parameters and it will return the data that I’m looking for. I just can’t seem to convert it to a data variable.