XANO vs Backendless Comparison

Disclaimer: I’m not an expert. The following info is based on only 1.5 hours of research, but hopefully this thread can give someone else a head start on their own search.

Here’s my summary:

• Firebase is more powerful than either, but requires more expertise to take advantage of all that. Personally, I ruled this out and was thus comparing other options.
  • XANO is quite user-friendly with excellent onboarding and hands-on support, but lacking in some features.
  • Backendless is an intermediate level platform that falls somewhere in the middle, but leaning towards the easy-to-use side of the spectrum.

Below is a screenshot of my comparison table. I’ll paste the text afterwards so that it’s searchable.

Along with pros/cons, I have a row for pricing and file storage because my use case involves plenty of image and other file uploads.

I didn’t include the nitty gritty details of their plans because if you want that you can just look at their pricing pages. Plus both companies allow you to customize your plan by increasing limits for specific features.

Text version of the table:

XANO

Pros
• Excellent onboarding
• Great tutorials and hands-on support
• More intuitive and easy to use
• Built-in authentication with 3rd party providers (e.g. Login with FB)

Cons
• Monthly plans are more expensive
• Less features because its a newer player in the field
• No push notifications, but has email and SMS
○ May be able to use 3rd party service like Ably Core, but that’s not yet well documented

Pricing and file storage
• Free plan file storage: 1 GB for images only (watermarked)
• Paid plan A at $67 USD / month: 10 GB
• Additional 10 GB = $5 / month

Backendless

Pros
• More features
• Less expensive
• Push notifications built-in
• Built-in authentication with 3rd party providers (e.g. Login with FB)
• Good support community

Cons
• Less intuitive platform
• Need knowledge of some technical terms